New work, male nude, ode to old master painters.


Yes as it says i went back in the studio after meeting this fellow you never know what’s going to happen , at least i don’t. i am sure there are a million togs out there who know everything about their camera settings and what adjustments will effect what and how so. me it’s a crap shoot.

I do know lighting so that is a plus and just learning model direction but i am still shy about that, why? –  guess it was the way i was raised. Not to say i haven’t learned a few things pushing the shutter button as often as i have. i am not stupid, i just act that way sometimes.

Warning there is male nudity here which might be offensive to some while others might be looking for it.

I hope my readers aren’t offended by this but this is what i seem to do best, studio lighting, just learning other stuff.

Hands

Hands

While the model was willing to pose naked he wasn’t that interested in have his name or face posted on the internet which isn’t a problem for me.

male nude sitting

male nude sitting

so i began to feature his hands because most people don’t know what to do with them during a photography session so why not begin there. he’s not an experienced model just has a nice body. Looking through the images these reminded me of some of the landscape images i got in Antelope Valley slot canyons see my photo shelter web site

hands on knees

hands on knees

Because of the time of day and the heat temperature in studio i shot these using my White lightning strobes, this image is just one downlight.

male midsection

male nude torso

below is one of the images he thinks is beautiful. yes it does show his body which is what he was interested in doing.

male nude torso

male nude torso

now these are just quick picks of the raw files nothing much done to them, made some levels adjustments. i get tired of shooting the same things over and over so i move on. I showed a print of another fellow i shot years ago. he liked it so i dug around pulling out a piece of wrinkled fabric, here thry this on.

draped nude male

draped nude male

‘what do i do?’  he asked. just move around feel the fabric i answered.

male nude torso

male nude torso

you can see he has a nice body and deep set eyes which worked for me and my lighting style. i decided to try something different since this black fabric poked out when pulling the other fabric from the box.

black drapped male nude

black drapped male nude

what a line huh? I always tell people i don’t need a hundred images just one or two, well here is one. below is anoher untouched image i’ll work on.

_MG_0922 copy

nude in black

nude in black

again the movement wasn’t working as well as i wanted so we sat down on the floor.

male

male

abstract male nude

abstract male nude

portrait

portrait

portrait ll

portrait ll

i like the first one better

I will end this post with my all time favorite image not to say the other images aren’t good and all my little darlings this one was developed in camera as i knew what I was going for.

1st image

1st image is the keeper. My Caravaggio, see his work here or it could be a Rembrandt van Rijn here

_MG_1020 copy

Both of whom we have seen as paintings in person while traveling in Europe. the above image reminds me of one of Rembrandt’s self portraits.

These paintings Rembrandt’s and Caravaggio’s are so awe inspiring to me which i’ve always had a hard time thinking my work might be. but at this point in my life maybe i can hit one out every once in a while.

jene

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , ,

One Response to “New work, male nude, ode to old master painters.”

  1. marinaro2 Says:

    Good for you man; always trying something new.

Leave a Reply

