more of my hand studies.


well here i go again trying to publish this series. it’s been such a crazy month for me. first there was the car fire when my  engine, on the day cruiser

the cat, 1967 cougar

the cat, 1967 cougar

burst into flames while crossing the George Washington bridge. we go from this

289 engine

289 engine

to this,

ac detail 7765 dist cap 7767 engine 7766 fire ext 7756

firemen

firemen

it’s enough to make a grown man cry. here is a good friend mortally wounded and all i can do is wait. thank goodness i had a fire extinguisher which ran out and an angel stopped his car with a bigger fire extinguisher and put the fire our before the fire truck arrived.

i am still waiting for ins co to determine damages on the car placing it’s value somewhere between $8,000 to $12,000 dollar range. it’s worth more than that to me in memories. the body shops greedy bid  for the work has me worried but they say i won’t have to do anything except keep my eye on them and i will.

i had a friend from the early 60’s come into town and contacted me for a visit. yes some of us are still alive from those ruckus merry days, some aren’t and as i get older i learn more and more who’s passed on. that’s old age i guess.

i try and keep creating or doing projects around the house to keep busy fixing this or that. i asked my friend if he’d mind me taking some pics of his hands because the day before i had tried taking some self portraits of my hand picking up chess pieces.

bishop

bishop

boy was this hard holding the camera and keeping focus without a tripod. this is natural sun light through the window. gnarly hand.

sun glasses

sun glasses

you think this is easy?  ‘what do i do with my hands’ is one of the first things people ask and here i am concentrating on the hands double the trouble.

clasped

clasped

hat in hand

hat in hand

so that means it’s time go ‘see you again next year.’ take care.

time to go

time to go

here’s your coat, here’s your hat, what’s the rush see you next year.

yesterday i had another Model Mayhem flake out on me and not show up for a session. i should have known just by how she was texting me. but i hate to turn someone away thinking i can pull this off. sometimes you can’t. another wasted day.

oh well

jene

 

 

Tags: , , , , , , , ,

2 Responses to “more of my hand studies.”

  1. marinaro2 Says:

    Ah damn Jene…the life bites us in the ass once again. I know you always rebound. Your hands show a life well lived. Model Mayhem does it again. I have been tempted to try a model from there but your experiences leave me pause. I guess I am sticking to my botanicals. Do you know the work of Howard Feinstein. He is my hero; now passed. We are old, period.
    Charlie

  2. more of my hand studies. | Fuzzypictures's Weblog Says:

    […] art & photography opinions and opportunities of Jene Youtt « more of my hand studies. […]

Leave a Reply

