Grey day play


Be forewarned there is female nudity here so if it offends you leave before viewing.

The other day a traveling model from Model mayhem recontacted me about shooting together and this has been a slow month maybe even longer than a month since shooting and I liked a couple of her portfolio pictures and I though, why not? I just had a cancelation on another shoot and I was ready. I do get excited about shoots even a headshot, my wife describes this as nervous but I think of it as anticipation which I think we artists all share. Will I be good enough, will what ever I am planing work, will people laugh at me? They have. Taking photos isn’t a life and death situation unless it is.

As you can read latter in this post how I screwed up during this session. Oh well.

Zi rang my bell 7 minutes before the arranged time, that’s a positive sign which means she’s professional and a smart lady even caught some type o’s in my model release, cool. We talked about makeup well lipstick color which she applied while I pulled down the paper. Then we looked through some clothes I had and made a pile to try.

_mg_3282

Beginning with this jacket I don’t remember having, it’s nice to discover something new. I really didn’t need to direct her because she would go from pose after hearing the click of the shutter. I see I should have fixed her face as it looks rough in this pose. I do try and make women look nice, must be something I got from my mother.

_mg_3324

Since the lighting is mostly set up I usually turn on and turn off units as needed. Which gets boring and I keep telling myself I need to  get out of this rut. But here I go again.

_mg_3320

I don’t think she ever said no to anything I suggested. A lovely pleasant young woman easy to work with.

_mg_3368

_mg_3355

_mg_3408

She did most of the work all I did was plug and unplug things and push the shutter. She had some Shibari rope work in her portfolio and I had asked her if she was up for it. ‘Sure’. She has her own rigger which is a bit intimidating to me the beginner.

_mg_3423

This is what I came up with her. I’ve always wanted to do a braided tie like this, I don ‘t know the names these ties but go on the visual effect

_mg_3421

not too bold but interesting for just one rope length.There feels as something is incomplete with this tie as it goes around the waist with no beginning nor end. Is there ever?

_mg_3451

we tried on the different clothes again. Someone had given me this headdress awhile ago but never found the opportunity I think it works here.

_mg_3453

We talked during the shoot to loose the Voyeuristic quality of the moments and to become human beings and not objects. I guess Zi would be called a ‘rope bunny’ which is what women are called who enjoy the freedom of being bound.

_mg_3493

Zi has a boyfriend and a different rope play partner/rigger receiving different needs from both. Working with these women is so insightful for me from the first woman who said she enjoyed being tied up. That surprised me somewhat as we had never talked about that before. But the more I learn the more I know.

_mg_3473

That there is a freedom and delicacy in not being in charge. Hell I get that feeling of not being in charge when ever I go to work at the Beacon as soon as I leave the house.

_mg_3468

At some point in time I accidentally moved the sync shutter speed out of sync with the flash units, going up to 250 from Canon 200. Check, check, check remember to take off lens cap.Check shutter speeds.

As you can see here the right side of the above picture is dark because stupid me didn’t check the shutter speed as I had moved it off the sync speed. Imagine my chagrin when looking at them in bridge.Sometimes I shoot bigger thinking I will crop latter but then I get so involved I forget, oops.So a few didn’t make the HD.

_mg_3509

This one only the chair is darker so no big deal

_mg_3517

But most of this series on the rug is trash as you can see below.Ugh

bad-3605

bad-3585

I am glad someone wasn’t paying me for this shoot. All though I did pull something out of this but nothing is perfect. Oh well.

bad-3638

bad-3635

These below I managed to save  because of cropping

_mg_3577-copy

Sometimes you win, sometimes you loose. What I was trying to do here is show off this lovely woman who had worked so hard for me.

zi-3603

It wasn’t an unproductive afternoon for neither of us. I learned an important part of photography check, check, check everything. I always say it not quantity but quality

_mg_3581-copy

so if I only get a few pictures I can use fine. This afternoon I connected with another human being and made a few enjoyable pictures. _mg_3619

So this is all I have to share today. I hope my few readers enjoy my efforts. At least two of us walked away with something we came for.Then as planned I took a nap.

Jene

Tags:

4 Responses to “Grey day play”

  1. Charles Marinaro Says:

    Jene ~ Your comments leave me in a tickle. I am looking for a model for an idea I’ve had. Any recommendations? Also what camera are you syncing? It is hard to find cameras with a sync terminal. I have an old Canon D20 that does. Hope you and Mary find a peaceful holiday to share.

    • fuzzypictures Says:

      Charlie Nice to here from you. I get most of my models from model mayhem his one was a traveling woman from San Franciisco. I have chinese flash triggers and receivers that have worked well for me over the years.

  2. Peter Le Grand Says:

    Jene, What a pleasure to look at your work. I think that the last picture is a great piece in terms of the pose and the lighting. Glad you continue to share your gift
    Best,
    Peter Le Grand

    • fuzzypictures Says:

      Peter

      That’s my fav also. Just working with raw mixing, things fell in place. Gift never thought about that, Marys not happy about what I am shooting but she’s living with it. Thanks for your support and comments

Leave a comment